NPAR 2013 — Call For Papers

NEW: Paper submission deadline extended to Tuesday 9 April 2013.

We invite you to submit your work to NPAR 2013, the 11th international symposium dedicated to non-photorealistic animation and rendering, co-sponsored by ACM SIGGRAPH and Eurographics.

Non-Photorealistic Animation and Rendering (NPAR) refers to computational techniques for visual communication. Such techniques usually generate imagery and motion which is expressive, rather than photorealistic, although they may incorporate realistic elements.

NPAR 2013 is part of Expressive 2013, a joint symposium that combines NPAR with Computational Aesthetics (CAe) and Sketch-Based Interfaces and Modeling (SBIM). It will be co-located with SIGGRAPH 2013 and will take place in Anaheim, California, 19–21 July 2013. A single registration for Expressive 2013 will include all three symposia.

We invite researchers, artists, and practitioners of all areas connected to non-photorealistic animation and rendering to submit papers and posters on their work. Submitted papers should be self-classified into one of the following three categories:

  • Research: new algorithms, scientific studies, analysis, or data (i.e., traditional NPAR papers) These must contain novel results that make a substantial contribution to the field.
  • Production: candid discussion of the process of creating a work (e.g., film, image, game) or art tool (e.g., paint or CAD program, software library).
  • Meta: statements about research that do not contain new results, e.g.: grand challenges, position papers, evaluation standards, surveys, and primers on art / aesthetics / psychophysics for a computer science audience.

All work must be previously unpublished and contain a novel contribution. Production and Meta papers need not contain original research or results.

Topic areas of the conference include but are not limited to:

  • Expressive character animation and physics
  • Abstraction and stylization of images/video
  • Interaction techniques
  • Accounts of real productions (e.g., animated films)
  • NPAR in real software products (e.g., modeling, visualization, presentation software)
  • Visual composition
  • Hardware acceleration
  • Evaluation methods for NPAR algorithms
  • Psychophysics of NPAR
  • Rendering and layout for text and presentation graphics
  • Quantitative analysis of human artists
  • Generative or evolutionary approaches
  • Style transfer
  • Temporal and spatial coherence
  • Adapting classic CG effects like motion blur, depth of field, and lighting for NPAR
  • Simulation of natural media and traditional styles
  • Non-traditional camera models
  • Position papers on grand challenges

There is no absolute maximum length for paper submissions; please use the SIGGRAPH length guidelines. In particular, note that papers longer than 8–10 pages must make a very significant contribution to be accepted. Papers should follow the ACM SIGGRAPH-sponsored conference formatting instructions, including a title page with an abstract and keywords, and a bibliography. Submission is electronic in PDF format; supplemental video and images may also be submitted. Research papers are reviewed double-blind and so must be anonymous when submitted. Meta and Production papers are reviewed single-blind and the author’s reputation and institution are a factor that reviewers may consider.

Accepted conference papers will be published as a single conference proceedings by ACM and will be available online via both the ACM Digital Library and the Eurographics Digital Library.

Unlike previous years, there will not be an official process to consider NPAR 2013 papers for journal publication.

Posters, demos, and artwork: You are invited to submit to these programs at anytime before June 2nd; every effort will be made to return a response within two weeks.

Important Dates

Papers submission deadline: April 9, 2013 (extended)
Acceptance notification: May 13, 2013
Camera-ready deadline: May 20, 2013
Conference: July 19–21, 2013

All deadlines are at 17:00 (5pm) Pacific Daylight Time.


Conference Chairs:
Forrester Cole (NPAR track chair), Pixar Animation Studios, USA
Donald House (CAe track chair), Clemson University, USA
Levent Burak Kara (SBIM track chair), Carnegie Mellon University, USA

General chair:
Cindy Grimm, Oregon State University, USA

Posters Chairs:
Metin Sezgin, Koç University, Istanbul


Paper submissions should be made via the conference management system at under the “NPAR” track.